December 2, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

There's a Little Phil In The Golfer In All Of Us

June 21, 2018

 

Golf can be a fickle game sometimes. 

 

You don't compete against your opponent. You don't compete against your buddy. You compete against the course.

 

During last weekend's U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills on Long Island, the course won. Nobody finished under par, with Brooks Koepka winning his second straight title, finishing 1-over. 

 

But the big topic of conversation centered around five-time major winner Phil Mickelson.

 

Mickelson, like many other players, was understandably frustrated over the USGA's setup of the course. At times, the greens were as slick as the ice at Alfond Arena to the point where if you knocked a putt a few feet past the hole, it was destined to go off the green.

 

That's where Mickelson reached his breaking point on Saturday during the third round, after his putt was rolling past the hole, headed off the green, he raced to his ball, whacked it past the hole, and putted out. 

 

He wa assessed a two-stroke penalty, but the keyboard rulebooks at home took to social media and screamed for an instant disqualification.

 

Mickelson is a well-respected player on tour and a great champion. Did he make a mistake on national television? Yes. Did he have a right to be frustrated? Yes.

 

I'm going to go a step further and say what Mickelson did was good for a chuckle. If you don't think so, you're probably a "walking rulebook" who doesn't let your buddies take a mulligan when they slice a tee shot towards I-95 at Bangor Muni. 

 

We're all guilty of doing it. While it shouldn't happen in a major tournament like the U.S. Open, it goes to show that legends of the game like Mickelson are human. Anyone remember when Lefty showed he was human on the 72nd hole at Winged Foot many years ago when he foolishly took driver off the tee and cost himself the U.S. Open, the one major that's eluded him?

 

According to Sports Illustrated, Mickelson apologized. He shouldn't have had to, but it does show what a class player he is.

 

So if your putt is rolling off the green at a local course, and you stick-tap it with your putter, don't feel bad.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags